College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaii at MānoaCollege Logo

Student Corner – Spring 2023


Journalism headliners

Journalism students in the School of Communication and Information had a stop-the-presses kind of year. Hi‘ilawe Neves won a $5,000 scholarship from the Native American Journalists Association/Asian American Journalists Association. Also, Journalism students won 23 awards in the Society of Professional Journalists Hawaiʻi Chapter’s Excellence in Journalism competition. Multiple award winners included Aishwarya BehiNathan BekChristine LambornCassie Ordonio and Samantha Jo Sexton. And three Ka Leo O Hawaiʻeditors were in the new special topics class offered in Fall 2022, JOUR 459: Hawaiian and Indigenous Journalism. It was co-taught by Professor Ann Auman and Hawaiʻi Public Radio’s Ku‘uwehi Hiraishi.

Doctoral student recognition

Hannah El-Silimy, a PhD candidate in Political Science and Indigenous politics, was awarded a $20,000 fellowship from the American Association of University Women. El-Silimy’s dissertation research focuses on how Indigenous women activists in Northern Thailand and the Thai-Burma border region are leading efforts for healing, solidarity and empowerment for themselves and their communities.

‘Masters’ at winning elections

The Public Administration Program is proud of its election-winning master’s students. Rachele Lamosao, who earned her MPA in 2021, is the new state representative for District 36. And Jackson Sayama, MPA 2023, was reelected to his District 21 seat.