College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaii at MānoaCollege Logo

CSS Roundup – Spring 2023


Recognizing 2022 award winners . . .

Ethan CaldwellEthnic Studies, CSS Excellence in Teaching

Stacie Hanai, Dean’s Office, CSS Service

James MakEconomics/UHERO, CSS Distinguished Retired Faculty

Heoli OsorioPolitical Science, CSS Excellence in Teaching

Ashley RubinSociology, CSS Excellence in Research

Manfred Steger, Sociology, CSS Excellence in Research

Lani TevesWomen, Gender & Sexuality Studies, UHM Faculty Excellence in Mentoring

Wei Zhang, Sociology, UH Board of Regents Teaching Award

. . . and decades of employment

10 years

John (Jack) BarileSSRI and Psychology

Inessa Love, Economics

Michael Roberts, Economics

Cassandra TenganCommunication and Information

20 years

Monisha Das Gupta, Ethnic Studies and Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

Richard Rath, Ethnic Studies

Christine Yakabu-Muramoto, SSRI

30 years

Del Ogata, Dean’s Office

Norman Okamura, SSRI

National appointments

President Joe Biden has named Miriam Stark to the U.S. Cultural Property Advisory Committee. The Anthropology professor is also director of the UH Mānoa Center for Southeast Asian Studies.

CSS Dean Denise Eby Konan has been appointed to the Palau Economic Advisory Group. The announcement was made by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior’s Office of Insular Affairs.