College of Social Sciences, UH Mānoa
College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaii at MānoaCollege Logo
College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaii at MānoaCollege Logo

Academic Advising

CSS is dedicated to helping undergraduate students achieve their educational goals in a timely manner. Academic advisors match students with customized educational plans, skills and abilities based on career and life goals, and shine the light on paths to success.

CSS Student in Need of Academic Advising?

Schedule an advising appointment on Star Student Balance. Available Mondays to Fridays (8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.), excluding holidays.

Academic Forms

Providing assistance to students with the completion and submission of paperwork critical to their academic progress.

Graduation

Providing assistance to students as they prepare for the culmination of their journeys at the university.

CSS Advising Team

We are dedicated to helping students achieve their educational and professional goals.

Jason Higa

Jason Higa

Academic Advisor

Dean Hall 2

(808) 956-0660

jthiga@hawaii.edu

Barbara Joyce

Barbara Joyce

Academic Advisor

Saunders Hall 248

(808) 956-8794

barbaraj@hawaii.edu

Kaleilani Keolanui

Kaleilani Keolanui

Academic Advisor

Dean Hall 2

(808) 956-0659

kkgk2@hawaii.edu

Sunhee Kim Fujii

Sunhee Kim Fujii

Academic/Study Abroad Advisor

Dean Hall 9

(808) 956-0665

sunheeki@hawaii.edu

Keiko Knudson

Keiko Knudson

Academic Advisor

Dean Hall 2

(808) 956-0662

knudsonk@hawaii.edu

Nanette Miles

Nanette Miles

Academic Advisor

Dean Hall 2

(808) 956-7590

nmiles@hawaii.edu

Dawn Nishida

Dawn Nishida

Academic Advisor

Saunders Hall 542D

(808) 956-0658

nishidad@hawaii.edu

Jennifer Oshiro

Jennifer Oshiro

Academic Advisor

Saunders Hall 604

(808) 956-0664

joshiro@hawaii.edu

Mark Oxley

Mark Oxley

Academic Advisor

Dean Hall 206

(808) 956-6652

oxley@hawaii.edu

Aj Simpao

AJ Simpao

Academic/Online Programs Advisor

Saunders Hall 311

(808) 956-0317

ajsimpao@hawaii.edu

Academic Advising

Office: Dean Hall, Room 2
Hours: M-F, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Closed on weekends and holidays.

Email: cssadvcl@hawaii.edu
Telephone: (808) 956-0661

Additional services include:

  • Certifications – For CSS majors, Pre-Psychology students seeking certification of courses for ROTC, Financial Aid-Satisfactory Academic Progress, Concurrent Enrollment and Veterans Benefits.
  • Major Advising – Visit department websites to find undergraduate major advisor.
  • Mandatory Advising – For freshmen and sophomores during their first four semesters at UH Mānoa.
  • Orientation Sessions – For new and transfer students to learn about policies and procedures applicable to their general education and major degree requirements.
  • Study Abroad – Assisting students in meeting graduation requirements, gaining a global perspective, and taking the educational journey of a lifetime.
  • Transfer Advising – Review of transfer credits to aid in a smooth transition to campus.